Edamame Rice

How many veggies can you count?

Okay, so I was orginally going to make one huge blog post about how to make these fantastic spring rolls but the recipe ended up being so high maintenance with so many various elements (his beautiful rice,  chicken in a delicious peanut sauce, plus three seperate dipping sauces), I thought I would instead provide the individual recipes.  Then I’ll make one post with instruction on how to bring all those elements together to make the rolls!  Let’s begin with the rice!  I decided to go with brown rice, but use whatever rice you please.  As with most of my recipes, you can be flexible and make this rice your own.  Improvise! Cook the rice first, according to the instruction on the box, and set aside in the fridge.

Take 2 cloves of chopped garlic, about a teaspoon of fresh ginger (about a half of a teaspooon of dry ginger, if you don’t have fresh), and a diced large white or yellow onion, and saute for about 5-6 minutes on medium heat, or until the onion becomes transparent.  Put aside.

Take about 6-7 fresh basil leaves and chop finely.  Grab about a half of a cup of shelled edamame. Chop a couple of green onions; I used 3.  Put aside.

Remove the rice from the fridge, and toss in the warm ingredients.  Drizzle in soy sauce to taste, and maybe a bit of hoisin if you’re feeling adventurous!  Finish off with the chopped basil, edamame, and green onions.

And that’s All I Eat!

2 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Pasta, Side Dishes, Vegetarian

2 responses to “Edamame Rice

  1. Rashel

    I love edamame and rice so much, this looks deliciousssssssss

  2. Pingback: Asian Spring Rolls « Alli Eats

Leave a comment